The REDigion Blog

Raising Earnest Disciples (John 8:31)

Step Back, Dad! (4)

3Please click here if you missed the last episode.

Tomorrow is Sunday and I will be facing Tayo face to face. Enough is enough! The Kingdom of marriage suffers violence and the violent will take it by force. Yes, I have chosen to be violent and please dont be surprised if you see me dress like a ninja to church. Perhaps, I am taking this into the extreme, but you would not blame me after you read what happened after my discovery at the cinema last Friday.

I had avoided bumping into my ‘fiance’ and his…his ‘whatever’, so I would not vent all my anger into two deadly blows. Immediately after the movie, I dashed like a hare to the waiting car and even Steve, my Boss’ son, had asked if a dragon was pursuit of me. I had snapped at him and he withdrew and became cold all through the journey home. He did not even wave goodbye when I alighted at the nearest bus stop to my house. Well, that was his business. *rolls eyes*. I had my score to settle.

I searched my bag for my phone. It was time to listen to another ‘lie’. I clicked the hand set. Oh no! It was dead.  Blackberry can be disappointing. Well, that will be solved within an hour.

When I stepped into the house, my dad was watching the 10pm Channels news and he seemed engrossed.

“Hello, dad!”

He didn’t turn. ” Do you know that Boko Haram killed 25 school students in Yobe today? What is this world turning to? Persecutions against christianity here and there… Jesus, please come save us from the hands of the devil.”

“Boko Haram again?” I sat beside him and removed my shoes. My heart ached to tell him my pains, but I could guess the first thing he would say…”Didn’t I tell you?”

My eyes strayed to the portrait hanging above the television. Oh mother! I wish you were here. It’s been 5 years and it only seemed like yesterday.

I mustered courage and cleared my throat . “Dad, there is something I want to discuss with you.”

He glanced at me briefly and refocused on the TV. “What is it, child?”

“Are you listening to me?” I stood up in front of the set, blocking his view.

“Okay, you have my full attention.” He adjusted on the sofa.

“Well, it is about my future, about Se…”

His phone rang and he picked it up. With a frown on his face, he handed it to me. “Take, this boy has been disturbing my life for hours and asking after you. Where did you put your phone?”

“Who?”

“The same boy I told you to do away with. He is not God’s choice for you, You hear me?” His voice was louder.

I snatched the phone from him and pressed the green button. “Hello? Segun, is that you?”

“Hello, darling. Where have you been?’ He sounded frantic. “I have been dialing your number for hours without response. I’ve been so worried.”

Worried indeed. “Really?” I led him on. “My phone has been dead. You are calling me with your Nigerian number. Does this mean you have arrived Nigeria without my knowledge?”

“Hmm, dear. You won’t believe what happened. I received a call from my M.D. to come to Nigeria immediately with the next available flight. There is an urgent issue in the office I personally have to attend to. In fact, I had to leave the convention mid-way and I tried your number over and over, but couldn’t get through. Since I arrived hours ago, reaching you has been mission impossible until now.”

Okay, I couldn’t take this anymore. I blurted out. “Stop lying, Segun. I saw you at the cinema today with another woman. With Tayo.”

There was a momentary silence. “You were at the Ikeja City Mall and you couldn’t call me when you saw me? Yes, I was with Tayo at the cinema. I had an urgent meeting with a client at the Mall and bumped into her after the meeting. She had two free tickets and urged me to watch a movie with her, which I reluctantly obliged since she was insistent. I called all through the movie, but your phone was off.”

I remembered seeing him tapping his phone many times. Perhaps, he was not lying after all. Maybe I have been too hasty to judge him.

“You know how it is with blackberry. Never knew my phone had gone off. Welcome home.”

“Sure. So who did you go to the cinema with or you went alone?”

“With my boss and some colleagues.”

“Your boss invited you?”

“Yes. ” I added “With two of my colleagues.”

“Okay.” His voice was curt. “We’ll see tomorrow morning then. I will come pick you up. Is 10a.m. okay?”

“Sure.”

“Cool. Good night.”

“Bye.”

He cut the line and I turned to see my dad right behind me.

“Is this boy joking with my daughter?” His face was hard.

“No, dad. No one can joke with Pastor Orji’s daughter. Please can you give me some privacy? I need to make an important call.”

“I will be in my study if you need me.”

I made sure he left before I dialed a number I had crammed intentionally.

“Hello.” The voice was calm, but the owner was causing a storm in my sea.

“Hi, sister Tayo. It’s Chinwe.”

‘Oh, Sister Chinwe. Good to hear from you. Is there anything you want me to do for you?”

She sounded so demeaning or was I just imagining? “Well, I am just calling to say hi.” Coward me!

“Oh, good. I thought I saw you at the mall today. I was with segun and we had fun.”

Was she goading me? If yes, she was making a big mistake. “Well, Segun informed me about that.”

“He did? Great! We even have another outing on Monday. Did he tell you that?” She didnt wait for my answer. “Of course, he wouldn’t. Said to keep it secret.” She giggled.

“Really?”

“Yes. Please don’t tell him I told him.See you in church on Sunday. I got to go now and thanks for saying hi. Remain blessed.”

She cut the call without waiting for my response. Who did she think she was? Whatever she was, she sure was not taking what was mine.

As I lay to rest that night, I got a text message from an unknown number. It was a Bible passage. Proverbs 3:5 “Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and lean not on your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge Him and He shall direct your path.”

Was I trusting God enough or had I begun taking law into my hands? Perhaps a little of the latter wouldn’t harm. I mean, I have to do something, right? I cannot just keep mute and watch another person reap what I had sown patiently over the years.

Today, Segun and I hanged out and it was super fun. It had been a while we had such happy time together and I felt fulfilled. While the chat with Tayo was at the tip of my tongue, I managed to scale through without bringing it up. I have a plan. Tomorrow after church, I will deal with her. If she thinks she’s got it, I have got something better up my sleeves. The kingdom of marriage suffers violence and the violent will take it by force.

Single Post Navigation

30 thoughts on “Step Back, Dad! (4)

  1. I really can’t wait to finish reading everything…I’m itching o!

  2. #in-deltan-tonation# O! Ko-ko-ko!!!!!

  3. Gloria on said:

    Sure cant wait for the continuation. I can imagine what happens next

  4. dolce shalom on said:

    omg..this is about to get nasty…kinda like girls pinky fight…pulling there hairs and screaming on “E string” of the violin..lol…. the suspense is making my heart beat…cant wait

  5. Ralph on said:

    Starting to look like dem “Mexican Soups”… Suspense filled. Let me alert d Ushers in Chinwe’s church ahead of time to keep watch and pls send me Sege’s number so I’ll keep him off church 2day. #hahahahaahhaha.
    InIboAccent.. O di egwu

  6. Debroslink on said:

    Ok. Fact is, this is Sunday afternoon and events are being unfolded right about now. So Anu, do me a favour and update us on what transpired among the trio THIS EVENING. Lemme refill my popcorn as I wait impatiently for the update.

    • Hello, Debroslink. ‘THIS EVENING’ is some 7 days away. Will definitely notify you once an update is up. Thanks soooo much for following.

  7. Hehehehe…someone’s in ‘soup’. Adjusts ma ‘google’, can’t wait for the nxt episode.

  8. Folashade Light on said:

    Wow. This is very interesting read. Saw the link on Raph’s wall and I can say I wasn’t disappointed reading this.
    Girls getting even eh?
    Waiting to avidly devour the next episode.
    Please keep it up.

    • Hello, Folashade. Thank you for visiting and I am glad you liked what you read. Next edition is coming this weekend. For you to follow more closely, kindly subscribe on the blog and you will receive email notification any time there is an update. Nice week ahead!

    • Ralph on said:

      Sade omo. Thanks 4 referencing. Grateful it blessed u.

  9. enoch on said:

    hilarious…cant wait to for the next episode…keep it up girl. cheers

  10. Sometimes it takes a painful situation to make us change our ways…an interesting read no doubt….Nice one Anu.

  11. Sometimes it takes a painful situation to make us change our ways…Interesting write up. ANU is keeping it 100%.

  12. Pingback: Step Back, Dad! (5) | The REDigion Blog

  13. hey girl, at this point you need some serious exclamations and such in ibo. i could help ya translate if you want

  14. timmy4gold on said:

    This is really a great job. God bless you.

Leave a Reply

