The REDigion Blog

Raising Earnest Disciples (John 8:31)

The Umbrella of My Life

13I was on a love mission recently. I needed to pay one last visit to a crucial love spot with my betrothed. So much depended on this meeting that I could not afford to miss it. My thoughts ran to and fro that morning as the time drew nearer and every other thing around me did not seem to have much relevance.

As the hour clocked 12 noon, I took a quick bite and as I was about to set out, my sister, like Elijah, announced the sound of the abundance of rain. The cloud was gathering thick and fast. For me, there was no turning back. So, I mustered all my strength and ran, geared on by the love that awaited. I sped quickly to the nearest bus stop in search of commuter that would convey me. Well, I was not totally lucky. The rains poured without mercy, but still, that did not detract me from my mission.

With every drop that fell, I took larger steps into the waiting transport and was I glad when I was in. Out of the rains, it did not matter if the heavens opened, I was safe away from its torrents and closer to accomplishing my mission. I was not bothered with how wet i was. What mattered to me was that I was safe, if only temporarily.

I watched as some passengers disembarked from the bus and into the rain, helpless and unprepared. I wished I had an umbrella for everyone. Well, life had to go on in sunshine or rain, right? By the time it was time for me to alight, the rain had subsided (lucky me!), and I hopped into the next available bus. It was in this bus that the Spirit reminded me of His word in Psalm 91…

1. He that dwelleth in the secret place of the most High shall abide under the shadow of the Almighty. 2. I will say of the Lord, He is my refuge and my fortress: my God; in him will I trust…”

Do you know there is a SECRET PLACE that can protect you no matter the storms that blow? A REFUGE and FORTRESS where you can hide and be safe? There is an umbrella that can guard you from the downpour of pestilence. Psalm 91 calls it ‘The Shadow of the Almighty’. I call it the ‘Coverage under the SON of Righteousness’. Jesus is the umbrella of life, sent by God to cover us from every wiles of the devil especially at this ‘dangerous’ times of the year.

For this ‘EMBER’ months, my prayer for you is that:

Your life will be better
Blessings will locate you from all chambers
God will be your defender
And Jesus at your Centre
As to the Holy Ghost you surrender

…Relax! You’ve got THE UMBRELLA!

This article is written by Raphael Francis. You can also follow  him on twitter.

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “The Umbrella of My Life

  1. Nice!

  2. Whao!!! What a nice article. Nice job Raph

  3. Love this! Xo inspirational!

  4. Love this! Xo inspiring!

  5. I so looove Ps91:1-3 esp in French!:D
    ‘celui qui demeure sous l’abri du Tres Haut…’
    God is more than able/willing to be our shield, buckler, refuge, backbone, muscle, etc so long as we keep to His terms.

Leave a Reply

